The National Nanotechnology Coordination Office, in a "Notice of Public Meeting" published in the Federal Register of 02/02/2012, announced that on March 27-28 of this year, it would be holding an "International Symposium on Assessing the Economic Impact of Nanotechnology". The symposium, organized by the National Nanotechnology Initiative and theOrganization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). The symposium will be hosted by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in Washington DC on March 27th and 28th from 8:30AM to 6PM.

The symposium will focus on

the scope of economic impacts of nanotechnology, input and output factors, metrics for other technological assessments, and consideration of the appropriateness of these metrics for nanotechnology materials and products. Topics addressed will include the role of research funding portfolios, intellectual property frameworks, venture capital, public-private partnerships, state and local initiatives, international cooperation, and metrics such as private sector and industry investments, patents and publications, and the development of a technologically-educated workforce as metrics for nanotechnology.

Confirmed as speakers at the symposium are:

    • Françoise Roure, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

    • Gregory Tassey, National Institute of Standards and Technology, United States

    • Mark Morrison, Institute for Nanotechnology, United Kingdom

    • Adalberto Fazzio, Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation, Brazil

    • Kazunobu Tanaka, Japan Science and Technology Agency, Japan

    • Altaf Carim, Office of Science and Technology Policy, United States

    • Herbert von Bose, European Commission

    • Joseph Molapisi, Department of Science and Technology, South Africa

    • GV Ramaraju, Department of Information Technology, India

    • Tom Crawley, Spinverse

    • Philip Shapira, Georgia Institute of Technology

    • Francis Peters, Michelin Worldwide

    • Travis Earles, Lockheed Martin

    • Lawrence Tamarkin, CytImmune Sciences, Inc.

    • Joerg Vienken, Fresenius Medical Care

    • Hilary Flynn, Lux Research

    • Reinhold Crotogino, ArboraNano

    • Peter Kruger, Bayer

    • Kalpana Sastry, National Academy of Agricultural Research Management, India

    • Victor Berucci Neto, The Brazilian Agricultural Research Corporation

    • Mike Roco, National Science Foundation, United States

    • Ajit Jillavenkatesa, National Institute of Standards and Technology, United States

    • Douglas Robinson, teQnode

    • Diana Bowman, University of Michigan

    • Tateo Arimoto, Japan Science and Technology Agency, Japan

    • Julia Lane, National Science Foundation, United States

    • Esper Cavalheiro, Center for Strategic Studies and Management Science, Technology and Innovation

    • Leonid Gokhberg, National Research University ‘Higher School of Economics’

    • Ben Walsh, Oakdene Hollins

    • Bertrand Loubaton, GE Healthcare Europe

    • Richard Clinch, University of Baltimore

    • Bertrand Loubaton, GE Healthcare

    • Eunmi Jung, Korea Institute for Industrial Economics and Trade, Korea

    • Oleg Karasev, National Research University ‘Higher School of Economics’

    • Kristen Loughery, Environmental Protection Agency, United States

    • Rosalie Ruegg, TIA Consulting


A draft verion of the symposium agenda may be found here.

Due to space limitations pre-registration for the symposium is required and begins on Friday 02/10/2012. Pre-registration is on a "first come, first served" basis and continues until capacity is reached or until 03/23/2012.

Those wishing to attend can register online at, via e-mail to or via snail mail at the following address:

International Symposium on Assessing the Economic Impact of Nanotechnology,

c/o NNCO,

4201 Wilson Blvd.,

Stafford II, Suite 405,

Arlington, VA 22230

Anyone who would like to present 3-5 minutes of public comments at the symposium should register online. Written comments may be submitted to until 03/23/2012..